first_img-Ninvalle says participation depends on fundingTHE GUYANA Boxing Association (GBA) has named its largest boxing team, in decades, to the Caribbean Championships, but president of the local body, Steve Ninvalle said that participation this year would depend heavily on government support.Guyana has been a dominant force in the regional competition and is hoping to travel with some 21 boxers and four officials for the December 4-9 regional meet in Trinidad.According to Ninvalle, approximately $5M is needed to carry the entire team.To this end, the GBA president is hoping for some assistance from the government.In 2016, Ninvalle and his team of executive members embarked on a 100-mile walk to raise funds for the national team, which took part in the Caribbean Development Tournament in Barbados.Light heavyweight champion, Dennis Thomas (left) and Markember Pierre were also selected.At that tournament, the boxers won 10 gold, 1 silver and the Caribbean title.The boxing association is hoping to make the needed funds this time around, because this year it is imperative to send a large team, since a few Spanish-speaking countries have been invited to the championship, including powerhouse Cuba, which has produced several World and Olympic champions.Venezuela, Puerto Rico and The Dominican Republic are also expected to field boxers for the event.Amongst the 21 boxers, several of them are former and current regional champions.Caribbean Lightweight champion Keevin “Lightning” Allicock will spearhead the side, which also includes Caribbean Middleweight champion “Dynamic” Desmond Amsterdam, former Lightweight Champion Colin “Superman” Lewis and former Middleweight silver medallist, Dennis Thomas.Ninvalle, however, pointed out that their participation would depend on their availability.The other boxers selected are: Youths: Mark Crawford (Lightweight–60 Kg), Richard Howard (Bantamweight–56 Kg), Abiola Jackman (Welterweight—69 Kg), Alex Butcher (Junior Welterweight–63 Kg), Emanuel Pompey (Middleweight—-75 Kg), Patrick Harvey (Lightweight–60 Kg Junior), Kevon Mullin (Welterweight—69 Kg) and Alesha Jackman.In the Elite Junior Flyweight (49 Kg), Quacy Abrams (National champion) and Richard Subratee (Runner-Up) were selected.In the Flyweight (52 Kg), Seon Griffith is the lone boxer. In the Bantamweight (56 Kg), champion Julius Kesney and runner-up Asheer Al Azeem were selected, while Teusimar Peters will join Allicock in the featherweight 57kg category.Best boxer Elite at the recently concluded National Open, Clairmont Gibson in the Lightweight–60kg, runner-up Delroy Fordyce and Shemar Halley (standby) were selected; so too were Lewis and Dewani Lampkin in the Lightweight 63kg division.In the Junior Welterweight (64kg) division, Orlando Grenville was selected, while Kevin McKenzie (champion) and runner-up Cranston McAllister would join Amsterdam in the welterweight 69Kg.Meanwhile, Aluko Bess (runner-up in the Middleweight), is also set to travel. Light heavyweight champion Thomas and runners-up Markember Pierre will join him.Daren France and Omar Sukhdeo (first and second in the 91kg heavyweight) as well as super-heavyweight boxers Kevin Hunte (champion) and Anthonio Williams (runner-up), were also selected with Steven Chan as standby.last_img

 Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *